The Queen of the Night

queen of the night 1

And the day came
When the risk to remain

queen cereus flwildflowers

Tight in a bud
Was more painful

Than the risk it took
To blossom.

queen blossoming

~ Anais Nin


The Queen of the Night (Night Blooming Cereus Cactus) blooms only one Midsummer’s night a year. The flower takes around 2 hours to blossom, during which it emits a sweet, calming fragrance to the surrounding area. Not long after reaching full bloom does the flower begins to wilt, and has withered by dawn.

IMAGES:

1) sp13ethnobotany.providence.wikispaces.net
2) flwildflowers.com
3) natogeocreative.com
4) chuansong.me

24 responses

  1. Beautiful, in a melancholic kind of way, but beautiful. Bloom your rampant little arse off you withering flower of the night!

    Liked by 1 person

    July 17, 2016 at 4:22 PM

    • Is that how one gets flowers to bloom? A cheering section? No wonder I can’t get anything to grow!

      Liked by 2 people

      July 17, 2016 at 8:21 PM

      • The science is a little iffy but you never know.

        Liked by 1 person

        July 18, 2016 at 11:04 AM

      • My own cheerleader, yes that could work for me. How do you get one without getting into trouble

        Liked by 1 person

        July 26, 2016 at 3:04 PM

        • Good, old-fashioned blackmail, I presume. But that only works if you find a cheerleader with a shady past.

          Liked by 1 person

          July 26, 2016 at 3:19 PM

  2. Stunning. What a pivotal day, indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

    July 17, 2016 at 4:41 PM

  3. This is very nice – did SM have anything to do with this one? Although I do get that she reads Anais Nin.

    Liked by 1 person

    July 17, 2016 at 6:13 PM

    • SM… well, she hit the ‘Publish’ button…she did do that.

      But hopefully one day, she’ll get to see this flower in person (or rather, one night.)

      Liked by 2 people

      July 17, 2016 at 8:25 PM

      • I didn’t figure her for a flower lover. But she does seem to have broad interests. I hope one night, at the right moment, she gets to see the flower. Peace

        Liked by 1 person

        July 17, 2016 at 9:36 PM

        • Thank you!

          I do like flowers- I just like them better in other people’s gardens. ;c)

          Like

          July 18, 2016 at 10:36 AM

        • I find I have a reality disconnect when it comes to gardening – I love the thought of it, but can’t seem to get with it.

          Liked by 1 person

          July 18, 2016 at 11:35 AM

  4. I love the night-blooming cereus so much! My parents would always wake me up in the middle of the night and take me down to see our plants on the one night when they bloomed.

    Your words go perfectly with the flower.

    Liked by 2 people

    July 17, 2016 at 10:05 PM

    • It must have seemed so magical on those nights. You are so fortunate to have had them around you while growing up! ;c)

      Liked by 1 person

      July 18, 2016 at 10:44 AM

  5. We’re on the same track today.
    Love the way yours is displayed and your full post.

    Liked by 1 person

    July 18, 2016 at 7:47 AM

    • Synchronicity. The flower must has more than one message to send.

      … and thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      July 18, 2016 at 10:52 AM

  6. Splendid pairing! And I just love how the stamen resembles a graceful little white spider.

    Liked by 1 person

    July 18, 2016 at 9:29 AM

    • Thank you!

      I didn’t even notice the white spider, but you’re right- that’s what it looks like! It probably keeps people from picking the flower that one night a year. ;c)

      Liked by 1 person

      July 18, 2016 at 10:59 AM

  7. Nice collection. I think gardening is about patience… except down here where I live. You just plant something. Everything goes.

    Liked by 1 person

    July 18, 2016 at 3:12 PM

  8. Beautiful….I can imagine waiting for the bloom. Well penned as always with great complementary photos😀

    Liked by 1 person

    July 19, 2016 at 6:37 AM

    • Thank you!!

      If I had one of these flowers, I’d throw a party that night! Of course, it would be very last minute…

      Liked by 1 person

      July 19, 2016 at 9:54 AM

      • 👍👍I will be there to with a bottle of wine to celebrate the beauty of this bloom 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        July 20, 2016 at 8:49 AM

If You Want to Sing Out, Sing Out!

