Sister Madly and the Bad Kitty

Please enjoy this lullaby by John Thursday while Sister Madly is away wreaking havoc on Tallulah’s Wedding.
Thanks again, JT, for making me smile!

John Thursday

This is not my usual cynical raving fare. A lullaby written for Sister Madly and the insomniacs of the world. Inspired by this post:

https://rearwindowethx.wordpress.com/2014/09/18/the-wisdom-of-the-selectively-nocturnal/

It must be read while listening to:

Odd Couple by The Dirty Three

Sister Madly and the Bad Kitty

Wide eyed, alone in the dark
The silence of morning before the day starts
Under the covers, you’re still as the dead
‘Cause shadow kitty just jumped on the bed
And you don’t have any pets

Sister Madly
Go to sleep
The shadow kitty
Doesn’t dream

Sister Madly
Listen please
It’s 2:20 am
Just go to sleep

Wide awake while the rest of us sleep
Restless and haunted in shadows and sheets
It feels so unfair to be left all alone
In silence and darkness and rattling bones

Sister Madly
Go to sleep
The shadow kitty
Doesn’t dream

Sister Madly
Listen please
It’s 2:20 am
The…

View original post 145 more words

7 responses

  1. John Thursday

    A smile is more precious than all of my leprechaun gold. Thx for reposting. My cult is growing.

    I wonder how many people actually read this to the theme song?

    Like

    October 23, 2014 at 8:25 AM

    • Sister Madly

      May your cult secure many souls, and grow to be the size of… something really big. (THIS is why I don’t write poetry.)

      I know I listened to the song- and I’m sure it was playing gleefully in the background on Panic Button Night.

      Like

      October 23, 2014 at 12:06 PM

      • John Thursday

        You don’t write poetry because you don’t want a cult? I actually don’t either. A book deal and enough money to remove myself from society would be lovely.

        I don’t really even read poetry, or have much interest in it, though I have stumbled onto some fantastic poets on this site. Strangely enough. Music got me into it, and it just became a useful format to purge my thoughts. Not an easy sell, though. Poetry.

        I will likely end up selling my erotica work long before I ever publish anything actually meaningful.

        Like

        October 23, 2014 at 2:53 PM

        • Sister Madly

          I suppose a cult could be fun in it’s own way… but I don’t write poetry because ‘something really big’ was the best phrase I could come up with at the time 😀

          I prefer poetry that flows like music, but that’s more in the way I read it than in how it is written. Your work always seemed like music to me.

          Like

          October 23, 2014 at 4:55 PM

    • I read it to the theme song, very fitting *nod* also well written. I enjoyed it very much! Still fairly new to wordpress, but loving all the writers I’m discovering!

      Liked by 2 people

      November 1, 2014 at 2:30 PM

      • Sister Madly

        Yes, definitely an appropriate theme song! Glad you stopped by.

        Like

        November 1, 2014 at 3:29 PM

  2. John Thursday

    I do usually have to stop myself from writing to the rhythm of nursery rhymes. Even my non rhyming prose sometimes ends up more song like structured than I intended. I don’t often keep a consistent structure, or traditional ryhming scheme, but I do write with an intentional flow.

    Would be interesting to have someone else read my work and see how they express the timing and rhythm.

    Liked by 1 person

    October 24, 2014 at 10:44 AM

If You Want to Sing Out, Sing Out!

