The Madness of the Moon ~ FullMoonSocial2014

moonlight

Come along these lonely streets
And trip the light with me
Perhaps this reality
Is not the place to be

Let us break all the rules
That makes us immune
And let us be guided
By the madness of the moon

So we run with abandon
Through the falling leaves
Happily partaking
In the sacred art of thieves

cemetery

With defiance we challenge
Every absolute
And the bloated sincerity
Of deviant truths

With a love that is selfish
Yet without inhibition
These arrested adolescents
With lovelorn fascination

Surrender to the madness
With all of humanity
Dancing under the influence
Of moonlit insanity

moonlight 2


(Written in response to Jeff Schwaner’s invitation to the Full Moon Social 2014 after much hard cider- so much, in fact, that Sister Madly doesn’t remember writing some of these things…)

32 responses

  1. ….how could it be a true blue full moon social without my Sister Madly making an appearance? Well struck, madame!

    Liked by 1 person

    October 8, 2014 at 8:16 PM

    • Sister Madly

      Thank you. I can’t even begin to tell you how hard that was.

      Liked by 1 person

      October 8, 2014 at 8:30 PM

      • But it was easy to like.

        Like

        October 8, 2014 at 8:33 PM

        • Sister Madly

          Thanks- I appreciate it.

          Like

          October 8, 2014 at 8:36 PM

  2. This is fabulous, I just love it! It flowed perfectly, so fun to read, hard cider or not, great poem!

    Warm wishes,
    Pepper

    Liked by 1 person

    October 8, 2014 at 9:00 PM

    • Sister Madly

      Thank you! 🙂 It was a bit of a stretch for me- okay, a big stretch. I seriously don’t know how you all do it all the time. That’s a gift you have.

      Liked by 1 person

      October 8, 2014 at 9:11 PM

      • Really, your poem is terrific! I would love to read more, you most definitely have a wonderful style with all of your writing, and a flair for poetry, maybe you just don’t now it yet! I hope you will attempt another after a break of course, or another round of cider. Please take care, enjoy the rest of the week.

        Warm wishes,
        Pepper

        Liked by 2 people

        October 8, 2014 at 9:23 PM

  3. Beautiful poem, beautiful rhythm

    Like

    October 8, 2014 at 11:10 PM

    • Sister Madly

      Thank you kindly!

      Liked by 1 person

      October 9, 2014 at 1:08 AM

  4. Cnawan Fahey

    Madly in Sky with Moonbeams*

    Picture yourself on a rainbow of skittles
    With medicinal reds and indigo spice
    Somebody asks you, to dance with them slowly
    the Sister with Madly designs

    Midnight arrives with green apple blossoms
    In lieu of ripe tomatoes
    Look for the girl with the moon in her eyes
    And she’s gone

    Madly in the sky with Moonbeams
    Madly in the sky with Moonbeams
    Madly in the sky with Moonbeams
    Aaaaahhhhh…

    Follow her round the calendar circle
    that winds round her childhood home
    She flashes a smile as you drift past her birthdays
    That grow so incredibly high

    Doorways appear behind certain numbers
    Waiting to take you away
    Look in her eyes with your head in the clouds
    And you’re gone

    Madly in the sky with Moonbeams
    Madly in the sky with Moonbeams
    Madly in the sky with Moonbeams
    Aaaaahhhhh…

    Picture yourself on a tree between seasons
    Climbing from May until June
    Suddenly someone is there on tree in December
    The Sister with Madly designs

    Madly in the sky with Moonbeams
    Madly in the sky with Moonbeams
    Madly in the sky with Moonbeams

    * * * * * * *
    *it’s just a rough draft…

    Liked by 1 person

    October 9, 2014 at 5:13 AM

    • Sister Madly

      😀 Awww, Thank you! Can’t tell you how much I needed a smile right about now!

      Liked by 1 person

      October 9, 2014 at 3:27 PM

      • Cnawan Fahey

        It doesn’t do justice to your beguiling eccentricities, but it was fun to write and am happy to have repaid you in a small way for all the bemused smiles that you have brought.

        Liked by 1 person

        October 9, 2014 at 6:25 PM

        • Sister Madly

          I think you flatter me… 🙂
          But since you had so much fun, I shall be calling upon you next time I’m asked to write a poem!

          Like

          October 9, 2014 at 6:46 PM

        • Cnawan Fahey

          I would happily collaborate with you! Consider yourself flattered!

          Liked by 1 person

          October 9, 2014 at 6:48 PM

    • Why do I have, “Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds” careening through my brain after reading this?

      Like

      October 9, 2014 at 4:45 PM

      • Sister Madly

        It’s like you said earlier: people on the radio always get the lyrics wrong.

        Liked by 1 person

        October 9, 2014 at 6:43 PM

      • Cnawan Fahey

        If you don’t, I have failed miserably in transcribing it!

        Liked by 3 people

        October 9, 2014 at 6:43 PM

        • phewwwwwwwww I thought something was creeping back from my semi misspent youth

          Like

          October 10, 2014 at 3:41 PM

  5. Terrific piece! I like this line best, “With defiance we challenge Every absolute”.

    I glean by the light of this slivery moon if you haven’t already partaken, you are indeed ready for Chaos Theory. The good kind of Chaos Theory too, not that mathematical gives you the creeps and makes you nod out and drool on yourself kind.

    ~ ~ ~ don’t go round tonight, there’s a bathroom on the right ~ ~ ~ dontcha hate it when the guys singing on the radio don’t know the words?

    Like

    October 9, 2014 at 9:56 AM

    • Sister Madly

      Is Chaos a Theory? Seems pretty certain to me. 🙂
      And the people on the radio never get the song right. Ever.

      Liked by 1 person

      October 9, 2014 at 2:47 PM

      • The poem is very very good. The symbolism with the defiant need and touch of unabashed desire, so good!

        This isn’t something that really requires or maybe even should go as part of the Blog. It is great for making peoples heads implode. AKA Professors.

        Chaos is indeed a theory and the ultimate paradigm shift depending whom you read. Then we have things like, The Reverse Ripple Effect, The Butterfly Effect, Universal Causality, Fractal Spirituality and being able to see Metaphysical Space. It is terrific stuff.

        The definition I found for “Chaotician” is great and I just cannot see a need to rework the wheel on this one.
        http://transitionu.wordpress.com/2014/10/06/chaos-and-order-in-an-atomic-maelstrom/

        You could go with what a special woman said about me when I start rolling, “U open me to things I never knew existed…..Sometimes u drive me to insanity and push me to my depths”.

        Hey it is just me being me.

        All the best

        Oh and one other thing before I toddle off ,,, “slivery” is not a typo and it works

        Like

        October 9, 2014 at 4:10 PM

        • Sister Madly

          Never once doubted that slivery was unintentional.

          Liked by 1 person

          October 9, 2014 at 6:39 PM

  6. locksley2010

    Wonderful poem! Far better than most poets I come across (and believe me when I say I tend to skim them). Yours has a mischievous, rebellious and fun spirit that comes through the writing. I am curious… any idea what the white dot in the second picture is?

    Like

    October 10, 2014 at 11:06 PM

    • Sister Madly

      Thank you! That means a lot to me. 🙂

      I have no clue what the white dot/ball of light thing is- I didn’t even notice it until I was looking through the pictures some time later, but I thought it was neat so I posted it. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      October 11, 2014 at 9:54 AM

  7. So alive and free, are your poems!
    Kinda “naughty” and against the rules, in my opinion…
    But that’s you signature and i love it!

    Really, it’s an honor having your like in my work… 😀

    Like

    October 11, 2014 at 8:37 PM

    • Sister Madly

      I am the one who is honored by your compliments 🙂 I’m not much of a poet- I enjoy reading it rather than writing it, so keep it up! I’ll be back to your site!

      Like

      October 11, 2014 at 9:29 PM

  8. Thank you for liking “A Shadowy World.” I enjoyed this wonderfully dark poem. It is an interesting version of “moonlight madness.” 🙂

    Like

    October 16, 2014 at 7:29 PM

    • Sister Madly

      Thank you! I enjoyed your site as well. Your choice of imagery for your posts is amazing! 🙂

      Like

      October 16, 2014 at 8:30 PM

  9. Interesting pics will come back

    Like

    November 26, 2014 at 11:31 AM

    • Sister Madly

      Thank you! I hope to get a chance to take more soon.

      Like

      November 26, 2014 at 11:59 AM

  10. Pingback: Quoth Me #3 | transitionu

If You Want to Sing Out, Sing Out!

